Brown Tomatoes

No, this isn’t a disease thread. I’m talking about varieties that produce brown tomatoes.

I’m a novice tomato grower. I have 3 plants this year: Early Girl, Cherokee Purple, and Chocolate Sprinkles cherry tomato.

I’m super impressed with the taste of the Chocolate Sprinkles tomato. It tastes like the Kumato tomatoes from the grocery store, but better. Early Girl is producing tomatoes that taste OK, but I don’t know that I would plant it next year ( I think it produces better quality fruit in a hotter climate). Cherokee Purple has set on fruit but it’s not ripe yet, so I don’t know how I will like that one.

But my question is, since I like the brown tomatoes so much, is there a brown slicing tomato that tastes like the Chocolate Sprinkles cherry tomato?

1 Like

I don’t know of a brown tomato that fits your description, however, the flavor profile you are describing is generally called “earthy” and “rich/intense”. Cherokee Purple is a superb flavored tomato with these characteristics. Please consider trying Black From Tula and Black Krim for a couple that should be very good to your taste buds.

Check out Tatiana’s database for some interesting comparison of varieties.

http://tatianastomatobase.com/wiki/Reports

http://tatianastomatobase.com/wiki/Category:Tomato_Variety_List

5 Likes

Black Brandywine has been a good producer for me in my location. With warm/hot and humid summers, dark large tomatoes have been mostly a bust, but black bw has done well. And unlike most Brandywines, is a much better producer.

For dark cherry tomatoes, Chocolate Cherry is probably my favorite, great flavor, and good production and disease resistance. I’m growing it this year (6th year), plus I’m also trying Black Cherry for the first time.

1 Like