Can you tell me about Kandil Sinap

What are your experiences with this oddball apple?

There was a large Kandil sinap tree on the farm when we moved here in 1960. It has huge crops and the apples can be quite large in a good year. Taste wise it is ok. I use it some mixed with others for cider. I give quite a few away also. It is also a very clean apple with no spray. It has only minor codling moth and maggot problems. I see no scab on it.

3 Likes

I have no experience with this apple. However I found good descriptions of Kandil Sinap in Russian sources since it originated from Crimea. I can provide this information if you are interested in it.

My Russian is a bit rusty, hope you can translate for me.:smile: Its such a strange lookin thing I had to have some. It’s on my frankentree.

1 Like

I have one in a pot I grafted onto Bud9 2012. It has grown into a slender columnar shape and I agree on its disease resistance. I cover the apples with Surround soaked footies, with touch ups in especially wet seasons. It is an attractive apple but my first crop tasted just ok. It didn’t crop the following year. I topped it over to Wijick McIntosh. Maybe they taste more impressive in other regions. I’m in Pacific NW.

Carole

1 Like

I also found the taste just OK. I think the whole sell on this apple is its unusual looks.

Scott

Is this the one also known as Sheepnose?

I think Sheepnose is also known as Back Gilliflower, another variety.

2 Likes