Craven's Craving" fig tree from the Point Loma neighborhood of San Diego

I picked this fig up on f4f last winter. One of two cuttings rooted. it stalled forever. I thought I lost it. then it started growing. It’s still small but has 5 figs on it!? This fig is from Portugal, and is probably in the 6th flavor group.
Most of those figs will not ripen here. Now maybe this is a fluke, and the fig is really mixed up, but if next year it produces figs this early it should work here. Even if long maturing because I have a lot of season left at this point.
Here are some photos of this first leaf fig tree.

7 Likes

That looks great. I love those figs that set from the get go.

1 Like

I’m new to figs, and thanks Steve for introducing me to them. I started growing because I just like plants. And fig trees are one of the coolest. They grow so fast, are very cool looking, and really stand out.
Not the best picture but a 2nd leaf from a cutting Steve sent in the winter of 2014-15.
Behind it is a Carmine Jewel, also in a pot. Oh the fig is MBVS.

Here is a 2nd leaf Florea with garlic in the background. Both 2nd leafs, are full of fig fruit. Still very small at this point.

5 Likes

Everything looks so healthy. Great job!

Thanks, just lucky, and I have my share of failures too.

Nice looking, Drew! What size bags are those in right now?

Great stuff, Drew. I somehow missed the boat on that one. Will have to trade cuttings this fall! And I also wonder how long that one takes to ripen. You may not be out of the woods yet! May take up to 120 days :frowning:

Those are 10 gallon. A little big, but I figure a few years in them. I paid 4 dollars each for them.

I have that many, no frost till the middle of November or later. That gives me 135 days approx.