Favorite format for a garden log/records

I’ve seen a number of helpful posts of pics of folks’ plants from years past. I’m unskilled at keeping track of information. I have never been good at jotting anything in a baby book, for example!:pensive::kissing_smiling_eyes: I wondered if there was an app or simple way anyone really likes for a person who is organizationally challenged. Online/ digital seems ideal as I could search back. I’d like to record things like temps/ general weather, when my asparagus started coming up, when something else started leafing out; maybe when I’ve noticed particular animals’ activity etc. What and when I’ve sown /transplanted something. When stuff is harvestable, etc.

This may be easy / second nature to some folks and insignificant to others. I’m NOT a pro grower of anything but I want to learn and improve and hope that good notes would help me.

Thanks for any ideas!

1 Like

Consider the school days mantra: Read it, Write it, Say it … Remember it.

Journals can be very helpful this way, and nowadays you can do them electronically instead of bothering with all those log books. Further, you can break them down into a document per plant or veggie planter. In fact if you start a thread here for each of the same then they’ll be preserved well past our lifetimes and you’ll also get feedback from others!

1 Like

There are plenty or choices if you want to keep records online. Google Keep is easy use for android users. Windows has OneNote. Google Docs word processor can be used by anyone. You can put pictures in all of those. Create topics like Peach, Plum, Apple, Rootstock, Insecticide etc. or organize by year or do both. Just a plain notebook or index cards also works but storing pictures with those is more difficult.

1 Like