Feijoa problem?

I’m brand new to feijoas. Just had my first fruit last year (not from my plants). And I recently planted 3 young feijoa in my orchard.

One of them might have a problem. Or maybe not, I’m too inexperienced to know. But this Albert’s Pride is dropping leaves. Temperature have been relatively warm here in Napa, CA, zone 9. There has not been frost since it’s planting a month or so ago. It is in the most sheltered location of the 3 feijoas.

Is this a problem? Or nothing to worry about?

2 Likes

Too soon to worry. Out of any set N of recently transplanted plants, one or more will show differences. Perhaps that plant had fewer roots or the roots were disturbed during planting. Looks like transplant shock or lack of water (not lack of applied water, but perhaps a root problem). Don’t judge the plant too harshly unless it does not put out a flush of new growth by June/July. Then compare to the other plants.

1 Like

Mine have been doing that for years.

1 Like

I agree. Transplant shock. That’s pretty common. If they had good roots you will be fine.

1 Like

Hey Aaron,
same thing happened on my Albert’s pride last year. It lost all leaves over the winter.

I initially thought it was our cold weather (lot colder than you) but all my other feijoas were fine so it clearly wasn’t it.

Eventually this tree did die. Fortunately I have several more Albert’s Joy trees so wasn’t a big loss.

That’s a bummer, Ram! If I’m having a Ram experience, unlike other commenters, would you recommend any course of action?
I appreciate your feedback!

I agree with other commenters that it might just be a transplant shock issue so I would just leave everything alone.
I felt I had to comment because this is exactly what happened to my Pride bush last year while other Albert varieties were completely fine.