Fruit Tree Grant Program

As many of you know, I’m a city manager by profession. I’ve spent the last few months thinking about creating a grant program where our City government would purchase a large number of fruit trees at wholesale and then offer them to residents who live in the City Limits at a very low or perhaps even no cost at all. Clearly this would require me establishing a lot of guidelines, rules, limits, and so on, but I’ve already been working on those things. I even proposed it to City Council and convinced them it is a program that would create a lot of positive publicity for the City at a relatively low cost. Of course all of you can understand it’s also a great way for me to mix business with pleasure, but I honestly do believe it would be a great program with a lot of benefits to the City and the residents.

But before I move forward, I’d like very much to hear opinions from you folks. I also am hoping that you all may be aware of some existing fruit tree grant programs that you could refer me to so I could see how they work. SO if any of you are aware of any fruit tree grant programs- be it through government or private or non-profit organizations, please tell me where I can read about it. The only one I’ve found is called The Fruit Tree Planting Foundation, and reading about it has been a huge help.