Grafting Apple trees

I am new to grafting Apple trees. I have done research and started a few doing the W&T method. Some of the thicker rootstocks are harder to creat a tight connection, leaving a little space. Of wrapped correctly within the tree naturally close and heal the graft? Or will lose too much moisture? I am wrapping the graft Union with parafilm tape and considering using wax as well. Do I need to wax the top of the scion wood in order to keep moisture in as well? And help is appreciated. I am in the Hudson Valley region of NY and with this warm weather I hope I didn’t wait to long to do my grafts.

3 Likes

My grafting is only on established trees -I’ve only ever grafted once to an unplanted rootstock. But I would say that those gaps can be a problem. If the size discrepancy is too great to do the whip and tongue with confidence I would try a cleft.

As a rule parafilm won’t bind tightly enough to correct a problem. But you can wrap the union with a rubber band, Temflex tape, plastic tape, even masking tape, and then cover that with parafilm. (You’ll need to slice the tapes open once the graft callouses nicely to prevent girdling.) The wax over the whole works shouldn’t be necessary but can’t hurt, and you definitely want to touch up the cut tip of the scion to help prevent drying out. I use parafilm along the entire length of the scion and twist the end at the tip.

I hope this helps. Notice too the search function at the top right of this page will guide you to a ton of great discussions on grafting we’ve had on this forum. Hard to find better commentary anywhere!

5 Likes

Thank you for your quick response I greatly appreciate it!

1 Like

Most of your answers are “yes”. I would suggest going on youtube to look at some grafting videos.

Or, if you were local, follow me to the backyard where I’ll be doing a number of benchgrafts this afternoon.

Here is an example of a graft I did. I’m hoping it’s just a small fix if anything.