Grafting mature pawpaw

Hello all,

I am new to the growing fruit community and eager to learn from your experiences.

I recently purchased a home in zone 7a. On the property I have two mature pawpaw trees (pics attached) which are about 30 feet apart. Neither has really fruited. Likely due to poor pollination. My question is how can I graft onto these mature trees while maintaining the current structure as they are very handsome? Any recommendations as to where to place the grafts/how many to place etc?

5 Likes

You are better off buying new trees and keeping this one. It is young and will fruit soon.

1 Like

Ok makes sense. I didn’t know if it was worth it.

I do have 4 other ones I planted last fall in another portion of the property. Each a different Peterson variety.

When the flowers come next year,pollen can be collected from each tree and transferred back and forth,using a small paintbrush or cotton swab.

1 Like

I can definitely give that a shot next spring

You did the right thing. Pawpaws need cross pollination from another unrelated pawpaw tree.

1 Like
1 Like

Thats pretty impressive. How long did it take the grafts to fruit? I will take it into consideration, although it will remove the current esthetics of the trees.

I think you’re right in keeping the esthetics and beauty of the trees in consideration.

Multi grafting might ruin the look of the trees. Get another tree and/or do what Brady suggests — pollinate by hand.

1 Like

That’s one beautiful pawpaw tree. Wow.

In general try to group all your pawpaws close together. I did not know about this when I planted mine about 20 feet apart which is too far.

Pawpaw wounds heal very slowly so grafting into such a mature tree probably isn’t a good idea- the wounds would be so big. Plus beheading them would ruin aesthetics. I would plant two or three new ones in between the existing mature ones. I’d plant Susquehanna, KSU Atwood, KSU Chappelle, maybe Greenriver Belle.

5 Likes