Groundcherry?

Hello, I’m relatively new to gardening and recently the ground cherry (cape gooseberry has caught my attention). It says online that ground cherry (not the tropical golden berry sibling) grows in hardiness zones 4-8. I know that ground cherry can be a perennial but when they say hardy to zones 4-8 do they mean that its a perennial from 4-8 or that it can complete its life cycle, seed and regrow the next season in zones 4-8?

6 Likes

I’m not sure what they are referring to in their promotional literature. I have some experience with ground cherries. They are delicious and I love them. Once the seeds are in your soil they will sprout in the spring, like volunteer tomatoes or dill. The problem is that they need a relatively long season to fruit and ripen. So better to start them and transplant them like tomatoes, to which they are related. They don’t like hot weather. They like a certain amount of moisture and 60’s - 70’s much more than 80’s-90’s. I would think San Francisco climate would be ideal. Same soil prep as tomatoes, but they grow more into a low bush. They are not a perennial in a Northern climate.

4 Likes

I’m in zone 5/6. They die here and seed themselves. They get really productive right as they get killed by frost. You are not likely to get a bountiful harvest because they are so small. I like to have them to snack on as I tend the garden. If you pick them slightly underripe, they have a cheese-like flavor that puts some people off. Fully ripe berries have a pineapple flavor that I enjoy.

5 Likes

@Aglevin2 Don’t worry so much about the linage. south American physalis peruviana north american physalis philadelphica or any of the other 70-90 species of ground cherry. zones 8 and below your going to be growing them as annuals.

Physalis by in large need breeding to improve them so its best to buy named cultivars and try them out. Or plant seeds from those sold in the grocerys like LIDL or Wholefoods.

5 Likes