Growing plum from cuttings

Hello,

I recently picked up some branches that had been pruned off of plum trees, in the hopes that they’d grow. I’ve never done this before and tried to follow some directions I found online, but I had no rooting hormone nor sand or soil. So for now they’re in a vase, I put some aloe vera and cinnamon in the water as per some tips I found online.

The branches have now been hanging out in the water for about 2 weeks and the thicker branches haven’t shown any change, but the thinner ones are growing super fast. There are leaves and buds but no roots yet. I’m wondering, since they seem to be doing OK, do I leave them in water, or is it better to get them into sand ASAP? Do I snip off the buds? I’ll note that I’m in an apartment with no garden, so planting outside is out of the question.

The cuttings are from an orchard near Bordeaux, and I am near Paris, France.
Really any advice would be appreciated!

Here are some photos…
Photo from 4 days ago, to show speed of growth:

28154555_153399495374709_921348902504890368_n

(I had to divide my post into parts because of the images)

And some photos from today :

Last photo…

Thanks so much for any help!!!

So I have mostly only failed to root fruit. It’s my understanding that water roots generally rot and need to be replaced with real roots. I believe what you are more or less shooting for is for the callous to form under water and then moving them to a solid medium to root. Does the cut show any callusing? Whitish rough lumpy fresh growth?

Thank you for your reply. There is no callusing as far as I can tell.

So, bright side, you learned a lovely method of forcing blossoms to see new varieties or for decoration. It’s not super promising. Fertilize the water lightly so they don’t just use up all their energy and keep them somewhere warm and evenly lit and pray for callusing.

OK thank you. Anything I can do for the thicker cuttings? Should I try planting them?