Help with some new grafting and bud work

Hello everyone and thank you for your reply’s. I am new to the website and have read a few different blogs regarding my issue but still need a little direction. I am also new to bud grafting and branch grafting. I live out in Zone 7a in ut and temperatures anywhere from 60° during the daytime to 40° at night. Most of this week looks like it’s going to be 50s during the day and 35-40 at night. Here’s my conundrum. I watched quite a few videos on YouTube and did research on the Internet. I thought maybe I would be OK to graft this early in the season. But… I should have waited another month or so until the trees start to push. I realize that now. But can’t go back. I have grafted several bud grafts on different trees and a few branch grafts. My main question is how do I try and save them. I know now I need to put parafilm up the entire branch and bud. But should I cover them with a plastic bag? Or tinfoil and then a plastic bag? Or nothing at all. Also most of the bud grafts that I did are on the trunk of the tree. Will these even come out? Or do they need to be on a branch?

This is to show the stage they are in

1 Like

Looks like you grafted a little early, as you say, but they’re pretty thoroughly wrapped. Better minds may disagree, but I think I’d leave them as they are.

I would just take what you did as practice, and plan on re-grafting when the leaves are pushing a bit. There is a chance some of them will still make it, but there is not really anything to do to help.

The chip buds you did can be used as a backup graft method but I find they usually fail in spring, they are better in summer. Also you need to think about apical dominance more in your grafts, it looks like there is still wood on the main trunk which is thick and high. The tree will sprout from that and not feed the grafts and even if it was later they would probably all die. You need to put the grafts at the highest points.

1 Like