How do I start an orchard with a tiny budget?

Greetings! I’m new here and interested in growing fruit (and nuts) but have no clue what I’m doing. A friend sent me here so I’m hoping to get pointed in the right direction. My situation is such that I do have time, but very little budget, and no land (currently).

Because I have lots of experience with gardening, my plan was to buy seeds of everything I wanted (because seeds are cheap), plant them in pots, and in 2-3 years when we hopefully get some land - bingo! I’d have lots of inexpensive trees ready to plant!

But as everyone here (except me) already knew, that’s apparently not how trees work! Reading here it seems like everything is propagated using rootstock and scions. And that the rootstock must be compatible with not only the scion but also the type of soil/land. I do already know (in general) about compatibility with zones (I’m 7a), rain (~40"/yr), humidity (high), etc.

Am I now going in the right direction? That is, the inexpensive way to start an orchard is to graft somewhat generic rootstock to very specific scions?

Thanks so much for your time.

Daniel

2 Likes

Not everything has to be propagated via cloning or grafting. That is however the only way to get the specific variety you want, say a Wickson apple. You would need to obtain the Wickson scion from someone growing that variety and then graft to an apple rootstock of which there are many.

If however you wanted to create more genetic diversity and roll the dice so to speak you can certainly plant seeds. Some trees, such as Pawpaws, even though there are selected varieties there are many people who argue they are not that much better than seed grown.