I feel like I was just scammed

Id say at this point I’m still relatively new to gardening. I started two years ago but I’ve been aggressively buying plants, propagating many of the cultivars I like and growing my garden as a whole. This season I purchased a yellow and red hinnomaki gooseberry from a nursery, both were 1 gallon pots. I dug up my area to place them in the ground, removed them from the pot and the dirt immediately fell off resulting in what is seen in the picture. I do understand that during this time of year, bare roots are often potted up for sale because they’ve broken dormancy. But nowhere in the description on the website did it mention them doing that. Am I overreacting? is this normal? I’ve never purchased plants this wimpy in a 1 gallon.
Thank you

I had that happen last summer when I bought a tree from a local one-man-show nursery. The cool thing is that he warned me that they had just potted them up. When the tree failed to take, he gave me a credit and I bought some other things. So my takeaway is that if they are up front that they are really selling a bareroot plant with a pot and some soil, and stand by their product, it’s ok. But if they don’t say anything, then the assumption is that it was potted up the previous year and should have an established root system.

4 Likes

That little twig was in a one gallon pot? Interesting. What nursery did you buy it from?

2 Likes