Indoor blooms

This is my first year growing amaryllis. Last year I grew some Japanese dwarf morning glories, which were cute, but lacked the WOW factor of amaryllis!

I got the amaryllis at Costco, and the bulbs were glued to the bottom of their containers and packed with moss. When I checked under the moss they bulbs were moldy. I pulled out the moss and yanked the bulbs off of the bottoms, which ripped the roots a bit. The roots were rotting from being too wet, anyhow. I don’t know much of anything about amaryllis- they were an impulse buy. I’d like to keep them growing for future years though, so if anyone has any tips, I’d take them.

Does anyone else have any pictures of indoor blooms you have going on right now?

7 Likes

How long do the blooms last? They look nice

No clue! Most people try to have them blooming for Thanksgiving or christmas, but I just assumed it was my luck that they’d bloom right between both. :laughing: I’ll let ya know if they make it all the way to christmas or not. :crossed_fingers:

Very, large and beautiful colored flowers. I record the bloom can last very long time. If potted right, keep it in dry side, it can grow and bloom every year

1 Like

I picked up some of these on clearance st Lowes one year after Christmas. They were not in very good shape but they bloomed and I saved them for several years. The bulbs will start making little bulbs on the sides you can divide to make new plants. They are really nice to see blooming inside when everything is dormant outside!

1 Like

Cool, I didn’t even think about how they might create baby bulbs, like bulbs do. I’ll have to get bigger pots.

It is nice to have something blooming. I’ve ordered some citrus and can’t wait to have fruit producing blooms going inside, but until then these will do. :slight_smile:

Amaryllis blooms about 1-2 weeks only.

2 Likes