Making straight grafting cuts

One issue I seem to have is this…

When cutting my scionwood for insertion, I find it can be difficult to get a straight cut. It seems no matter what I do, it goes a bit “concave” to where the bottom of the “wedge” is actually wider than the middle of the cut.

It doesn’t “feel” to me like I am bending my arm outward as I cut, but it seems to happen a lot.

If I’m describing this correctly, does it happen to any of you? How do I avoid it?

3 Likes

Make sure you are using a single bevel blade, sharpened only on one side.

3 Likes

Which side should be “up” (away from the wood) when cutting? The beveled side or the straight side?

1 Like

I’m new to this, so take it with a grain of salt. While practicing this winter, I found that while a single bevel blade helps, how sharp the blade is matters way more for getting a flat cut. My impression is that the big advantage of a single bevel blade is that it increases the effective sharpness, not any magic about having a flat side. If you are using a single bevel knife, you want it to be bevel up to maximize ‘bite’. I also noticed that having a blade that is at least 2 1/2" is very helpful, and should have as straight an edge as possible.

Any knife you use should be sharpened at least to an extra fine level (1000 grit diamond, 4000 grit Japanese water stone, or hard Arkansas [yes, these are all approximately the same]), but finer is better. Also when sharpening, it should be sharp enough to shave coming off the coarser grits, then refined from there.

If you’re not already, you want to make sure you’re drawing the knife perpendicular to the cut instead of just pushing. The slicing action is more efficient and gives you more control over the cut. This is where the bade length comes in to play. You should also be moving the stick to enhance this action.

It’s also good to make sure you’re holding the knife correctly and supporting there back of the cut. I found this video from @SkillCult helpful: