Mandarins - which ones to get?

In our home we consume many bags of cuties. I am trying to pick a few varieties for the home garden.

The purpose is for fresh eating. We don’t juice much. More sweet the better for kids. Prefer seedless or very few seeds. Prefer easy to peel but if its a great variety can just use a knife instead of hand peeling.

I have shortlisted a few but would like to hear from citrus experts here on which ones you recommend? If you have tasted any of these varieties could you describe the flavor?

Clementine Dec to Jan
Owari Satsuma Dec to Jan
Kishu Dec to Jan
Tango Feb to Apr
Gold Nugget Mar to Jun
Shasta gold Mar to May

I’m not an expert, but I do have a Pixie Tangerine in the backyard. It’s a young tree and so we only had a few fruit this year. They were very tasty, almost seedless, and were not too difficult to peel. Just pulled the last fruit off this weekend, probably ripe Jan/Feb.

Shasta gold is not easy to find, but if you do, it should be good. I would also consider Yosemite Gold and California Honey.

3 Likes

Im partial to kishu. Really productive tree, true zipper skin, hangs on the tree for a fairly decent time and really good flavor. Gold nugget is really good, but ive only had this from farmers market no experience growing them. Those two would have you covered for a couple of months.

I would get Kishu and Gold Nugget for sure. I haven’t ever gotten a seed in those and they are easy to peel and delicious. Tango is very good as well, sets very well, but not as easy to peel as the above two. It also isn’t completely seedless. Considered seedless, but probably averages 1 seed per fruit.
Just added Yosemite Gold and Tahoe Gold this year, so can’t comment on those.

Have you considered Lee-Nova (88-2) as an early mandarin?

1 Like

Any Mandarin will be better than store bought. Can’t go wrong with owari. I grow Miho armstrong and Sumo/Dekopon/shiranui. You’ll need some patience. Mandarins don’t make their best fruit for 5-10 years.