My rooting hormone didn't work on my fig. Am I doing it wrong?

I have been gardening for many years, but I have just recently started planting fruit trees. I have always had a love for fruits, but I was constricted to mainly only apples trees in northern New York, which I didn’t even have as they needed another tree to pollinate and space was an issue. When I moved to coastal North Carolina, I had a lot more space and finally my love for fruit trees could be fulfilled. I also had many neighbors that had large fig trees, and I was inspired to see if I could get one myself. I took a clipping from someones tree, and planted it in a small pot with rooting hormone. (IN THE WINTER)However, my rooting hormone didn’t work and they never took root after weeks with correct care. I also used rooting hormone on a king sago from costco that was struggling in a very small pot, but I didn’t see any progression. (It made it for other reasons) I eventually gave up on the figs, but now I wonder–Was it my neglect or was it the rooting hormone that failed the figs.

3 Likes

There have been several post here on rooting fig cuttings… see that one for starters.

Lots of good details included in those posts.

Good luck.

TNHunter

4 Likes

Welcome Sabastian, Definitely check out the link above.

Was it powder or gel? What kind of rooting hormone? Personally I stopped using any rooting hormone on figs with better results.

3 Likes

Figs donot require rooting hormone to root. They do require a well drained but moist medium in sunny location. Include a minimum of 4 bud nodes, of a dormant one year old wood. make a slant cut on the end planted, and scratch some of the outer bark to expose the green cambium and leave only 1 bud exposed above the soil line. Water it in well and place mulch over the soil to hold moisture. The best time is a couple weeks before bud swell. The best medium is 1/3 river sand, 1/3 compost and 1/3 garden soil.
Dennis
Kent wa

2 Likes