Peach newbie

Hi I’m a total newbie peach grower here. My husband and I love peaches and thought we’d “try” a couple trees. We bought two I believe they are a snow white or something similar.

We haven’t done ANYTHING to the trees and this is the first year they started producing. I don’t know a thing about what you need to do, I was hoping to get by all organically and just let them grow.

Well we picked a couple and they really don’t look great from the outside! They look to have some type of sap coating at the top, lots of green dots, but I haven’t seen any holes or anything. We did get brave and peeled one -it looked good inside, so we tasted it and they are awesome.

I’m just not sure about what I’m looking at?? :grin:

3 Likes

Please tell us your state so we will have a better idea what your pests and diseases for your peaches would be.

4 Likes

Oh so sorry :grin: Ohio

Glad you at least finally got some peaches to taste this year. Green dots look like a fungus. Perhaps the sap is from an insect. I am in SW Ohio and have 4 peach trees.

1 Like

Possible peach scab.

2 Likes

Great link, TY for posting this.

1 Like

I agree the peach looks like it has scab or bacterial spot. Also agree the sap is probably from bug damage. I would not be surprised if you don’t have some worms in unsprayed peaches which look like that.

In Ohio to get good productive trees with good fruit, will unfortunately require a decent level of management.

Deciding to invest some time in the trees is the biggest part. Once you and your husband decide to manage the trees, the learning will follow. Joining or following this forum is the best first step you could take, imo.

The most common important mistakes new peach growers make for new peach trees are:

-Planting peaches in poorly drained soil.

-Allowing sod to grow close to the trunk.

-Failure to prune/shape the trees.

-Failure to thin the peach crop.

-Lack of any pest management.