Peach Problem

So this is my first year with any sizable peach crop. Not huge as the early bloom and late cold temps thinned them down. On 2/3 of the peaches I am seeing a tiny hole the size of a tooth pick. No sign of any insect in the fruit, even when you open the fruit. But you can see where something bored into the fruit. I assume something laid eggs.

I am not sure where to start on this. Any suggestions on the likely culprits? I am on the East coast, mid Atlantic.

In the past I have sprayed later in the season carbaryl for Japaneses Beetles. I sprayed copper for the first time this year. I had some Bonide Fruit Spray with Captan and carbaryl so I sprayed that today.

What cocktail of chemicals will most likely kill the culprits? Any chance of my infected peaches being edible?

Very disappointing, I still have a lot to learn about growing fruit.

Are you familiar with the plum curculio? If not say hello…!!

Then again I could be wrong. They don’t exist out here in the desert, thankfully.

They leave a crescent shaped mark. If not that shape maybe Oriental fruit moth.

So this is a list of the insecticides I have found so far -

Spinosad
Carbaryl
Horticultural Oil
Lambda Cyhalothrin
Malathion
Neem Oil & Pyrethrins
Permethrin
Imidan 70-W

I am sure each of these has its strengths and weakness - is one more likely to cover a wider variety of peach pests? The imidan is expensive and seems to be a commercial product - not sure that is right for me.

And even coddling moths like peaches. Like Fruitnut said quite a few pests like your peaches including stink bugs.

If you use the search engine ( a magnifying glass symbol on the top right corner of the page,) and search for peach tree problems, you will find tons of responses.

Growing peaches in the east coast, you will have your hands full with pests and diseases.

It could be egg laying but it might just be curc feeding, or both. Both can cause the holes you mention.