Permethrin as a one-stop peach tree pesticide?

I’m just getting into the world of real pesticides, and I’ve been told this is the main one that is used locally on peaches.
https://www.hokkochem.co.jp/archives/nouyaku/アディオン乳剤
It appears the main active ingredient is Permethrin 20.0%.
I’ve been doing a bit of reading, and it appears to work on Peachtree borers, aphids, OFM, among others. Apparently Permethrin is even sprayed on clothing to kill mosquitoes.
I’m not sure there’s much point spraying it this year, as the harvest should start in a couple weeks.
But I’ve had serious enough problems with these ( mainly aphids) to ruin the crop on my tree this year.
I’ve planted another Peachtree and 2 nectarine trees which are bearing fruit for the first time this year. I’d like to get things organized for next year so all four trees don’t have serious problems. I also have a new Cherry Plum hybrid in the middle of all this.
I bagged the peaches and nectarines, but I think the cherry plums will probably not be practical to do that.
I’ve read that someone was spraying the stuff directly on the fruit to get rid of PC, so I imagine it can’t be that bad.
Anyone have experience using this stuff?
Thanks a lot

1 Like

Permethrin can destroy the beautiful skin of some nectarine varieties. It did not seem to bother the peaches but I will never again use on apricot or nectarine.

2 Likes

I have a pesticide applicators license and thus many choices in pesticides. I don’t care for the characteristics of Permethrin. If you want to use a pyrethroid, I recommend Cyfluthrin.

1 Like

The products that I looked at that had Cyfluthrin in then did not seem to be labeled for fruit trees. What brand product are you using?

1 Like