Pigs raised on Pasture

Anybody have experience growing a few pigs on pasture?

Looks like it should be pretty easy but I have zero experience with animals.

I always have a lot of Apples on the ground after apple picking is over and I’m also wondering about allowing the pigs to graze in the orchard to eat the fruit on the ground. I would guess that about 25% of the apples that I grow end up on the ground. We do not harvest the drops for Cider and having a lot of drops really adds to the disease pressure.

My son has 3 feeder pigs coming for a new “experiment.”

2 Likes

I have zero experience. However, I frequently buy pork from these people at Dennis farms. They’ve been raising pastured pork for many years. They seem like very nice people in person, often willing to share their experiences. I suspect they’d be willing to do that with just about anyone.

If you don’t mind your land looking like bombs were dropped on it, go for it. I suggest bringing the excess fruit to your pigs in a dedicated “sacrificial pasture”. Perhaps running them through the orchard for short monitored periods would work too? I am basing this off of my experiences on grazing pasture.

3 Likes

What about the chemicals sprayed on the fruit? Are the pigs eating drops?

Rick,

Pigs are sort of like peach trees, except probably more involved. In other words there is a pretty steep learning curve (at least to make any money at it).

Think all the diseases, wildlife deprivation, ect. which affect peach trees. Pigs have just as many issues, or more. It’s doable, but just know they require a lot of management.

I’ve done everything from raising pigs in a milk barn as a kid, to managing thousands of sows on a corporate level, to owning a large confinement operation. It’s been a while, but I used to know the business from all angles.

Like anything in agriculture, pigs requires a lot of study and experience to make money at it.