Pomegranates in zone 7

Anyone else in zone 7 growing pomegranates? I decided to plant a few last year; I have been happy to see my Salavatski, Kazake, and Sumbar varieties leafing out this spring.

Salavatski and Kazake are hard seeded varieties but Sumbar is soft seeded; also supposed to be early ripening.

5 Likes

I’ve been growing poms for about ten years. I’ve gotten half a dozen ripe fruits in that whole period – too many problems with winter dieback for me. Kaj acik anor has been the most hardy one for me, its a bit better than Kazake or Salavatski.

6 Likes

I have a Nikitski Ranni that is on its 4th leaf in the ground in zone 7a. It is planted in a very sheltered spot but it survived last winter with little to no damage and no protection. (meanwhile my similarly sheltered but unprotected Chicago Hardy fig froze to the ground)

Last year we got our first mature pom from the bush and are hoping to get a few this year. It is flowering nicely right now.

4 Likes

I am also growing Salavatski, Rannii, Surh Anor and few others in zone 7A for several years and so far I am very pleased, have only minor diebacks/tips. From my observations poms are hardier than figs.

4 Likes

Most years we are not zone 7a, yet 7a does happen occasionally here, this year was 8b, very rare for here, 7b and 8a is most common here. 4 out of our 5 in ground pomegranate bushes have only been in the ground one winter, one of our 8b winters, so I am not sure yet how well they will do here most years.

Our “Salavatski” looks like it’s going to fruit this year for the first time, it’s in it’s 9th season in the ground. It was damaged by a weed wacker, then because of some 'Shothole borer" beetles the bush was messed up for 2 years, yet it came back strong eventually. 2 of them look like they will fruit their 2nd season in the ground, this year.

2 Likes