Raspberry Propagation (round 2)

Good Morning all…

Keep in mind I am not a raspberry expert at all… Planted my first Raspberries last spring.

I ordered 3 heritage reds, and 3 fall golds… but over time I figured out that what I actually got was…

3 heritage reds, 2 fall golds (those are everbearing), and one Mystery Black Raspberry (june bearer).

Several weeks ago, as my raspberry plants were first budding out some, I propagated several, some from Tip Rootings, and many more from (root shoots)… The heritage reds are very eager to send up shoots from the roots, and some 2-3 ft away from the mother plant.

RBprop

The pic above is from my first propagation attempt and was dated March 15.

100% success rate… all of those have been planted and are looking great now.
But… I thought that was it… I am done with that… but not so… Since then many more new primocanes have come up (outside my intended row area)… and so yesterday I collected a few more.

Just sharing a few pics of how I did that in case it will help someone else.

First here is a PIC of my Mystery Black Raspberry, showing that it is sending up a bunch of primocanes right off the crown… I counted 7 or 8 coming up there…

Question - should I limit those to for example only the best 2-3 ? it seems to be putting out an excess to me.

And this time around I also found some black raspberry root shoots coming up - but this one I took a pic of was close enough to my row that I left it.

Mystery Black root shoot

What I noticed is that the black raspberry root shoots, have darker green leaves, but the thorns near the base of the root shoot are almost clear, white. If you look close you can see that.

Now below is a root shot from a Heritage Red…

Heritage Red

Notice the abundance of red thorns… that makes their root shoots very easy to ID. They produce an abundance of these…