Recommendations for a school garden

Hi all,

I’m an 8th grade science teacher at a middle school in Castro Valley (Zone 9b). In a couple weeks I will be moving classrooms - and my new classroom is in front of a dirt area. I’ve gotten buy-in from admin & facilities for the idea of creating a school garden in that dirt area, and I’m trying to deliver them a “dream plan.”

The problem is the garden is at a school. So for 2 1/2 months in the summer (i.e. the most productive months of the growing year) the only person around to tend to the garden is me (and a hose timer). I think between use of drip irrigation and/or wicking beds irrigation during the summer won’t be an issue. But I don’t want to be harvesting crops during the summer.

I’m looking for your suggestions of fruit trees/bushes and vegetables that are harvested in the fall/winter/spring. Additionally, any “no-maintenance” crops that could be useful for summer. Students always talk about pumpkins. Maybe plant pumpkins before school gets out and harvest when students return?

BTW - the other issue is pest control. We use IPM and getting approval to use any sort of pesticide (even organic) can be tricky. So while I love cabbage, cauliflower, brussel sprouts, etc, but I’ve found the pest pressure (aphids and cabbage worms) to be too much to handle just squishing bugs.

Initial Ideas:
Fruit:

• Pomegranate
    • Hoku Botan
    • Eversweet
  • Persimmon
  • Feijoa
  • Citrus
    • Finger lime
    • Seedless Owari Satsuma Mandarin
  • Figs (don’t worry, I’ll eat any breba crop) ;-}
  • Apples
    • White Winter Pearmain?
  • Pears (aren’t pears for your heirs? I want something kids can try while I’m still alive)
    • Hood
  • Bananas?

Vegetables:

• Spinach
  • Lettuce
  • Pac Choy
  • Horseradish
  • Beets
  • Peas
  • Radish
  • Carrots
  • Onions
  • Egyptian Walking Onions
  • Garlic

Herbs:

• Thyme
  • Rosemary
  • Sage
  • Chives
  • Lemon Grass
  • Tea

Flowers:

• Nasturtiums