Rookie effort

Here’s some pictures from my initial attempt at grafting apple and pear. Used whip and tongue. Constructive criticism is valued and welcome.

15 Likes

Looks about like my first grafts. Probably good enough for most to take on apple and pear. They are pretty forgiving. I’m no expert but I would probably cut around those buds a little more, don’t put a bud right where you are making the cuts. Mainly to make it easier to work. Also, you can cover that whole scion with wrap to keep it from drying out. The buds will push right through.

2 Likes

That’s good to know about wrapping the whole scion for moisture, will do

2 Likes

Pretty good for first time, the rootstock vertical cut is where it should be, but your vertical cut on the scion is too far from the sharp end of the cut. I like to give more strength to whip and tongue by cutting both scion and rootstock at about a 30 degree angle; it gives more bending resistance and strength to the healed graft union. Also when you cut at a 45 degree or greater angle the two simply do not fit together very well whereas with the smaller angle slices the two pieces are easier to bend the wood to close all gaps between the two. Practice more with waste wood to try to make the graft union longer and stronger.
Dennis
Kent, wa

3 Likes

This photo shows the angle Dennis is talking about. It also shows where to place your vertical slice. It is a bit counterintuitive. The cut goes closer to the sharp/acute end of your rootstock AND scion. It really pulls the graft together nicely if you get these vertical cuts right. The picture also shows buds right at the graft, proving my suggestion wrong. It’s just easier for me to not have them in the way.

6 Likes

It is counterintuitive to put both verticals near sharp end of both pieces. Will keep practicing.

That’s a great explanation of placing the cuts. I never quite knew how to word this when trying to explain to my inquisitive friends.