Searching for a mystery plum

My parents had a very old and beloved Santa Rosa plum tree in their yard when I was growing up. I was sad when they had to cut it down, but figured I would just purchase another SR someday. But now that I’m searching for ones to buy, I’m starting to think maybe it actually wasn’t a SR plum, as it doesn’t look quite right in comparison. I’m not a plum expert so if anyone has any insight I would be very grateful!

The fruits from my mystery plum were identical in size and shape to the SR, but a much darker color. They never had a yellow tone to the flesh - even when underripe the inner flesh was pink that darkened to a very dark purple.

Storebought SR plums are never great (in comparison), but I’ve had other local SR plums that I also thought were inferior. This plum was similar to those SRs, but much more complex, vinous, and tart. The flavor stood out great when the plums were dried and they were wonderful for fresh-eating.

Almost all pics online show the SR with green leaves, but this tree had dark purple leaves with a bit of green hue to them, not solid purple like some ornamental plums I’ve seen. The tree was never green-leaved at any point in the season. It had white, slightly pink blossoms.

I grew up near Santa Rosa and a short walk from one of Burbank’s experimental gardens, so there’s Santa Rosas and other Burbank plums all over the place here. Does it sound like this could have been just be an oddly-hued Santa Rosa, or maybe another Burbank variety? I would love to find one like this.

1 Like

There are a number of purple leaf Plum trees.One is the Hollywood.That seems to fit your description of the plant parts.
It could also be,the tree was something that Burbank developed.Who knows?bb

1 Like

Hollywood plum is a dwarf. It blooms early, and harvest is early

Hollywood plum has a very unique flowering habit too

1 Like