Sulfuric acid seed treatment

I am thinking about experimenting with sulfuric acid treatment of Cornus mas seeds.

I have never done this with any seed before. Does it remove the need for both scarification AND stratification or is that seed dependent?

From what I have read Cornus mas seeds need about five months warm stratification followed by three months cold. Supposedly the five-month warm stratification allows for microorganisms to degrade the surface of the seed making it penetrable to water. The acid is supposed to replace this part of the procedure (if I understand it correctly). Would I then just cold stratify the seeds or is that still necessary?

Thanks,

Matt

1 Like

It does not eliminate stratification requirements to any seeds. At least cold stratification. I never heard of a seed needing warm stratification. In the case of Rubus seeds if you didnā€™t use acid, it will sprout in 2 years. But it may only need 5 months, getting 5 months the first season would be hard, so it usually sprouts the 2nd year.
Rubus is tough as the seeds also need light to sprout so cannot be buried.
Also I have grown Cornus mas seedlings and they need 6 years to fruit on average, a minimum. I have a couple seedlings that may take 8 years? Three did fruit in 4 years, the rest out of 14 of them fruited in 6 years, except for two. Fruiting is sparse the first few years.
The two unfruited trees are now 7 tears old. Hopefully next year.

1 Like

The acid could help with scarification but it wonā€™t reduce the need for stratification. What concentration of Sulfuric acid are you thinking about using? Concentrated sulfuric acid would destroy the seeds. Youā€™re going to need to use a diluted acid. I have worked with concentrated sulfuric acid and itā€™s not something you want to handle without PPE and reviewing the SDS.

Several suggestions: