Turnip greens?

I hope talking about vegetables in the ‘fruit in the kitchen’ category is acceptable??

I have cooked turnip greens, collard greens, kale, in the past and don’t really remember exactly what I did, but remember thinking I could probably do better. I did like them, but since I am not a Southerner, I think I probably don’t do it justice.

Can I get a little input as to how to cook my turnip greens? A few recipes or tips would be appreciated! I have late fall turnips to pull, so will have a lot of greens to use in short order.
Thanks! :grinning:

4 Likes

Bacon Fat, Onions… and any of those greens… Southern Good for Sure.

Above an official recipe from a rather famous southern restaurant in TN.

7 Likes

I’m not that good at cooking greens, but I enjoy most of them sauteed with garlic. If you’ve got bacon, by all means use it. They can make a good addition to soups. I stir spinach into my chili. You can get fancy on sauteed greens with a crumble of bleu cheese or some such. Or steam them and serve with a drizzle of vinegar and evoo. A robust green like kale or collards could go into a meat pie.

6 Likes

I go for beet greens, bacon, garlic, little balsamic vinegar.

But I’m not a southerner, I’m a yankee through and through.

Scott

3 Likes

For one, you can “cold pack” turnip and mustard greens…makes them even better…especially in a blizzard!

I cook 'em…(salt and vegetable oil–bacon/lard not good for you)…
and I eat em.
Vinegar and/or mustard can ‘flavor’ them in the plate as you say grace over them.

3 Likes

I grew up eating them boiled, with - as TNHunter says - bacon grease, onion, and maybe a few pieces of scrap ham or bacon.