What apple trees can I sell, which can I give away, etc

I’m brand new to this, so bear with me. I apologize if this has been asked before (I found a closely related thread on patented varities), but that one doesn’t quite answer my question.

I get that I can’t propagate patented trees to sell or give away (or keep for that matter). I also understand that the same goes for patented rootstock. What I don’t quite understand is what my legal obligations are once I’ve grafted non-patented scion wood to patented rootstock. Obviously, I can keep/grow these if I purchase the rootstock, but can I give them away or sell them? If I can sell them, while the non-patented scion wood would be royalty free, do I have to pay a royalty on the rootstock even though I paid to purchase them in the first place?

Sorry again if this is a boneheaded thread. I just can’t find this particular question answered explicitly.

3 Likes

You cannot asexually propagate a patented variety. This means you cannot take a patented rootstock and make two (or more) from it. Obviously, you can resell or gift what you purchased (e.g., a patented rootstock), because you already paid the patent license fee/royalty when you bought it, unless you signed a contract that says otherwise.

1 Like

To me it’s the same as copying a cd for a friend, sharing your netflix password, or any other theft. If you can do those things, then your morals shouldn’t prevent you from generating your own trees from patented trees

@Exmil
I disagree on that. When I buy root stock and graft my own not patented scion on it it is the same as I bought CD and placed a glittered sticker on it. Now I decided to sell it or give as gift. Can I do it to CD? Obviously, yes, I didn’t make an illegal copy, it is the same CD I already purchased legally. Same goes to the tree I grafted on patented root stock. I sell like that CD. And moral discussion is out of place there.