What is wrong with my apples- insects/disease

I have not had apples looking like this since I have been growing fruit for many years. I did not have time this year to spray correctly- out of town for a family emergency then rain off and on for three weeks. So many of my apples this year looks like the pictures I have posted. I am pretty sure this is all insect damage not from disease. What insects cause this type of apple disfigurement?
Hopefully I can get back to my regular spraying schedule next year. The apples I am getting will just be used for apple butter since most are not usable for just fresh eating.
Thank everyone in advance for your input and help.

2 Likes

Mike,
Please check this out. Could be caused by a few things.

https://extension.unh.edu/sites/default/files/migrated_unmanaged_files/Resource006843_Rep9894.pdf.

2 Likes

Thank you. I appreciate the link. I tried several sites but the photos were either non existent or the descriptions were very vague.

I don’t see any obvious frass on the skins, perhaps it rubbed off from the fruits being handled.

Slice some open and see if there is any tunneling, sometimes to the core.

2 Likes

Lookslike apple maggot from here

1 Like

I cut some open but did not see any worms.

They manifest as brown trails in the flesh.

1 Like

I saw some brown trails but they did not seem to get to the seed area. Not going very far into the apple flesh.

1 Like

Those would be the apple maggots. It’s the codling moth larvae that tunnel right to the seed and leave a lot of frass. A much larger tunnel with these.

2 Likes

Agree with Lois,