What varieties produce the largest fruit?

I’ve been growing a wide variety of fruits in southern AZ for about 8 years. In my experience, our hot and dry tends to “runt” the fruit of many trees/vines. I am hoping to trial some “large” varieties to see if they end up producing “average” size fruits for us. Based on all of your vast experiences, what varieties produce the largest fruit?

Here’s a list of the fruits I’m interested in, and what I’ve acquired so far to test:

Asian Pear
Korean Giant

Persimmon
Giant Fuyu
Giombo

Grape
Red Globe

Jujube
Shanxi Li

Apricot
nothing yet

Plum
nothing yet

Peach
nothing yet

European Pear
nothing yet

2 Likes

My two cents, largest in size does not equal good quality.
Shanxi Li produces large jujubes alright. It tasted spongy and dry. I prefer Sugar Cane will is medium in size but is sweeter and crunchy.

Korean Giant lives up to its name. It is large if you thin well. It tastes very good grown where I am

It is hard to know how these trees will perform in your area. I only know that Eric @amadioranch lives and farms in AZ. There are others but I can’t recall.

3 Likes

People are still trialing ‘Charles Harris’, it’s an Asian pear variety, it’s fruit can grow up to 3 pounds, about 1/3 bigger than ‘Korean Giant’ pears can grow.

There is also an Asian pear variety called ‘Drippin’ Honey’, it can get almost half the size of ‘Korean Giant’, then again not many people see Korean Giant reach 2 pounds.

1 Like

Check out Spark’s Mammoth apricot?

There’s also a pear called ‘DUCHESSE D’ANGOULEME’ which I believe is a European type of pear, that gets up to 2 pounds in weight, about the weight of the largest ‘Korean Giant’ pear.

1 Like

Thanks for all the replies so far!

1 Like

You are welcome.

You might consider Atago, which is larger but not of the same quality, in my opinion.

Perhaps Elephant Heart or Broken Heart