White alpine strawberry? Pineapple Crush?

Im interested in growing white alpines as I’ve read they’re relatively (compared to commercial strawberries) pest free and birds are less likely to eat the white ones. Mike from strawberry seed store seems to think extremely highly of the pineapple crush variety and given his amazing amount of knowledge on the topic Im considering the variety. However, there is not a lot of information online about this variety. Has anybody tried this variety as well as other white/yellow alpines? Thoughts on taste and production is much appreciated!

i have no experience with that variety or the mentioned seller.

I do know a lot of “rebranding” is going on in strawberry “land”.
They basically use a historical or wild variety, give it a fancy cool sounding name. And claim it’s a revolutionary new thing. And of course charge you 4 times what the exact same plant sold under it’s original (correct) name costs.

I’m not saying that’s a 100% going on here. But imo it’s likely.

If some one took the years to stabilize a selection or mutant. They usually also take the effort to publish a comparison to show of the bred in favorable traits. That’s a lot more work and effort though, way more than just thinking of a new name for an already existing variety, and typing a marketing BS story and selling a ton of plants though.

4 Likes

Drew51 has great experience with Alpines, red and white as I recall! I hope he’ll chime in.

4 Likes

Pineapple crush is a good berry. Probably an heirloom. It is pest free and only a few smart birds figure out it’s ready. I have never protected my white alpines. They are actually yellow. I’m not sure what one I grow? I had a few different whites and they got mixed up. Makes a great ground cover.

2 Likes

@Drew51 How do you protect your strawberries from squirrels and chipmunks?