Would like to grow an apple tree but

I am living in the middle of part of the country that is full of hardwoods and ceder tree’s. This is what i am fighting. Not humoresque.

2 Likes

I am new to fruit tree growing but could you plant an apple tree that is resistant to apple cedar rust? There are others here with way more experienced than me that can help. Hope I am guessing this one right?

1 Like

No, you won’t get rid of cedar apple rust. Nor all cedars
But you can find resistant varieties of apples (or decide to spray).

3 Likes

Go for it… I have apple trees very close to cedar and do get rust.
However CAR usually does not ruin the crop.

Other things will get you first! LOL

2 Likes

I finally found a source for a Melrose apple, thee!!! best, but can not find m27 rootstock.

1 Like

I am newer too. I have the same problem. but never know the reason. I will first to try biological treatment. please see following link.

1. Safely treat most fungal and bacterial diseases with SERENADE Garden. This broad spectrum bio-fungicide uses a patented strain of Bacillus subtilis that is registered for organic use. Best of all, SERENADE is completely non-toxic to honey bees and beneficial insects.
3 Likes

Find B-9 or G41 maybe?

Bob,
M27 is super dwarf (no more than 6 ft tall). I have two apple trees on M 27. They are in ground. Is that because you want to grow it in a pot?

Like the poster above said, B 9 would do. I prefer G 41bbut mine are all in ground.

No, in the ground. We don’t eat a lot of apples, Melrose apple is “ the apple for me”. I grew a lot of apples earlier when I use to live in Chicago area. Japanese tooooo sweet. I don’t have the taste for apples any more. Store bought stuff getting better.

1 Like

I have cedar (juniperus virginiana) near my apples…I guess if I grow some seedlings, I can tell which are resistant quite easily. Looks like the Frostbite apple form Minnesota is pretty susceptible to CAR.