Apple trunk growth at base

Hi All, Happy Holidays!

I’m new to Apple growing (3 Cummins trees, Liberty, Freedom, Williams’ Pride, all in 3rd year on semi-dwarf rootstock), so apologies if this is a basic question. As I was getting the trees ready for winter I noticed something odd at the base of one of them. See pictures below. It’s a bulge in the trunk near the original graft union. I was thinking maybe crown gall, but it doesn’t really look like other pictures I can find of crown gall. It normally has a white spiral-wrap trunk guard around it, which I moved up for the picture. Am I looking at a burr knot here? It does have some roots growing off of it, but is pretty smooth in parts as well.

1 Like

Looks like a burr knot to me. Also, your landscape fabric or whatever that is too close to the trunk.
What exactly is the rootstock? MM111 makes burr knots a lot.

Thanks! It’s on a G890 rootstock. It is landscape fabric loosely wrapped around the base. What issues will having the fabric that close cause?

I don’t think it is wrapped loose enough. You should get that fabric (and any other mulch at least a few more inches away from the trunk.

2 Likes

I had growths like that on quite a few of my apple trees that I kept the white spiral plastic on for over a year. Sort of looked like knobby knees. After discussing with others, I removed the plastic and filed down some of the growth earlier in the summer. I ended up whitewashing the trunks instead. It happened in all 5 trees that were wrapped, so Im sure that is the common denominator.

2 Likes

Thanks for the advice! I was wondering if the spiral-bound wrap was problematic because it does have sharp edges. This gives me an excuse to whitewash.