Arboreum Co. sale went live 9/11/22 at 5pm ET

Unfortunately the only thing I was looking for was a Hakuto Peach, but it sold out before I had a chance to get one. But $93 FedEx shipping… Have they always charged that much?

2 Likes

Maybe, you don’t miss much. After all, most yellow peaches taste rather similar, at least to me.

I think someone here grow that peach. Once you get a hang of grafting, you can pm that person for a scionwood exchange. It’d be a lot cheaper that way.

2 Likes

@mamuang The Hakuto is a variety that @SMC_zone6 speaks highly about. I’m just getting started on fruit trees, but I was willing to make room somewhere in my property for a Hakuto. For now I should be plenty busy already setting up this initial plan:

FruitTreesPlan.docx (34.8 KB)

That’s on top of my large vegetable garden, my 30+ potted figs and my new raspberry, blueberry and boysenberry patch.

Sometimes I’m my worst own enemy… always trying to do too much at once.

@Marco
I am in constant disagreement with Mamuang’s opinion about variety in peach flavors. Maybe it’s just his climate, I don’t know.

Jumping from veggie gardens and berries to peach will be a challenge. You have plenty of time to study how to handle diseases and insects.

However, if you do not want to spray synthetic chemicals, it will be an uphill battle for peaches and other stone fruit in our area.

Our weather is unpredictable. I thought I would get very good peaches this year due to the drought. Well it poured last week at the time of my late peaches about to ripen. My Winblo, Baby Crawford and PF 25 are less than optimal taste-wise.

My Autumn Star peach is about to ripen later this week. Guess what?we are going to get soak again this Tues. In short, excellent peaches vs New England weather? My bet is on Mother Nature.

1 Like

No pears listed (yet).

I’m not entirely against spraying chemicals, but I have to tell my wife that, or it would be a no-go. :wink: