Experimental Dwarfing Pear Rootstocks

I’m a keen hobbyist growing pears in a very harsh central Alberta climate. How harsh? -42C has been my coldest. My average winter low is -37C. This winter for example it hit -38C in late December as the coldest. So the rules for growing pears for me are 1/ They must be able to survive -40C. 2/ They must be able to survive -40C 3/They must be able to survive -40C. There are a few more main rules, but I bet you can guess what they are :slight_smile:

I have experimented with several pear rootstocks, and the following are my comments:

Siberian Pear, Probably the best all around rootstock for my area. It does not show any incompatiblity issues with the pears I grow, basically of Russian origin. These all have Ussurienses (Siberian Pear) in their ancestry. This is a very hardy rootstock, and makes a full sized tree ultimately.

OHxF87, OHxF333, OHxF97 These survive fine due to the aways decent snow cover we get up here. The problem is these rootstocks are always imported from the USA, and to get into Canada the roots are heavily fumigated. This literally means 4 out of every 5 of these rootstocks die on me the first year. I suppose if there was a Canadian supplier this would not be a problem. But the 20% that survive the fumigation seem to work well.