Grafting onto Persimmon Seedling

I recently purchased persimmons seedlings off Missouri Department of Conservation. I have zero experience with working with persimmons but have grafted apple rootstock for a few years. Anybody have any tips on grafting them? Should I bench graft them when seedlings/scion are dormant? Do I wait for the seedling to leaf out? Not sure the diameter of the seedlings. Should I plant them in the ground and grow them until next year?

3 Likes

I would plant them and graft next year if possible. Then I would field graft when it warms-up (In May for me in PA). When I tried to graft to the small rootstock I had 0/3 takes. When the rootstocks grew for 1 year after the failed grafts, I got 100% takes (with close to 10 grafts).

9 Likes

Thank you for that response. I was leaning towards that and think I might have to do that! When you field graft you suggest a cleft graft? Any pics of your process?

3 Likes

Iā€™m not an expert, but I would plan them out and wait for them to leaf out. With seedlings from MDC you will probably want to let them size up for a year before grafting. I prefer to wait until the rootstock is pushing growth and the weather is in the seventies fairly regularly, although timing that can be tricky in SW MO. Cleft or W/T will work great, itā€™s just up to what youā€™re more comfortable with.

I have a couple of videos on how I like to field graft persimmons and on after graft care. The videos arenā€™t anything special, but maybe theyā€™ll be useful. Following this routine I have 85-95% takes on persimmon.

4 Likes

I am located in southern NY. I expect those seedlings to arrive sometime in March. Assuming they are very thin I will plan to plant them out and field graft them next year. Guess if they do better in the 70s I should wait until may next year to field graft if that is correct?