Influence of rootstock vs scion

I’m relatively new to the world of grafting.

One thing that I don’t fully understand is the influence a rootstock has on the scion (and future growth thereof) or that the scion may have on the rootstock.

Here’s why I ask:
I have a seedling pawpaw tree in its 4th season, third in the ground. It seems very unhappy - the leaves are pale and are scalding slowly, and it’s only about 3 feet tall while its “litter mates” are flourishing and up to 7 feet tall already, planted only 6 feet away.
Either this tree is in a very unlucky spot of dirt, or it’s just genetically crappy :joy:

So my question is - if I use it as a rootstock, should I expect the scion to confer its health and vigor to the tree or should I expect the rootstock to sabotage the scion?

My guess is that a weak rootstock will result in a weak or failed scion/graft, but just want to confirm.

I vote for a healthy, vigorous rootstock; think your guess is right.

4 Likes

It could be a variety. My limited experience with pawpaws is with Shenandoah and Mango. Both went in ground the same day next to each other.

Shenandoah has grown very slowly compare to Mango. The first three years were painful to see a 2.5 ft Shenandoah next to a 5 ft tall Mango.

(Larwe found that other people seem to have the same experience with Shenandoah).

This is their 5th year in ground. Shenandoah is about 4 ft tall and Mango is over 7 ft.

By the way, I’ve learned that pawpaws need more water than I first thought. For two years, the tiny Shenandoah struggled and its leaves turned yellow early (by August). Once I start watering it deeply and never let it suffer a drought, the scalding, yellowing leaf issue was gone.

Mango has had no issue as it has a very steong growth to begin with,

2 Likes

Very cool to know that the watering seemed to solve the leaf issues for you.
I will take that into consideration!

I definitely have a fair amount of variation in the vigor of my pawpaws.