Is a small greenhouse worth the effort?

I have a space between my garage doors approximately 7.5’ wide and am considering buying/building a greenhouse between 6-7’ wide and up to 8-10’ long.

I have little experience with greenhouse growing myself and have read from some members that the larger they get the better they work. I assume this is similar to scaling a fish tank, where a 10 gallon tank is actually more effort than a 55 gallon tank to maintain.

I have been offered a carport frame (free) and have been looking at double wall poly sheets to fabricate my own.

However, it is tempting to just jump on something like this:

https://www.aosom.com/item/outsunny-portable-outdoor-walk-in-garden-greenhouse-with-roof-vent-and-rain-gutter-for-plants-herbs-and-vegetables-6-l-x-6-25-w~845-243.html?recv=eyJwYWdldHlwZSI6InNjaCJ9

I’d like to get a head start on seedlings and extend my fig season,also possibly overwinter some potted stuff outside (z6) instead of the garage if you guys think it would be a good idea.

Pardon the scrap and garbage cans, but this is my spot. South facing in the driveway, the snow usually melts here before I get to shoveling it.

I would love to put it directly against the house with something like this

https://www.aosom.com/item/outsunny-walk-in-garden-greenhouse-aluminum-polycarbonate-with-roof-vent-for-plants-herbs-vegetables-8-x-4-x-7-green~17SI7D0QHG800.html?recv=eyJwYWdldHlwZSI6InNjaCJ9

However I’m pretty sure there are safety issues or code violations with enclosing the electrical meter and solar shutoff.

4 Likes

I’m trying to visualize this. :slightly_smiling_face:
Will it be outside a two door garage, between two garages, or? Which sides (N, S, E, W) will be obstructed by garage walls?

Updated above ^

1 Like

What direction does that wall face?