Ontario Fruit Growers

I thought it would be a good idea to start regional chat for those of us in Ontario. Hello from Zone 6a. I am still new to this so keeping a close eye out for pests.

I will try to start this with some resources.

For nurseries the Canadian ones are well documented in this post:

Availability of spray materials is also quite a bit more restricted than in the USA. The best general guide that I am aware of comes from BC:
Fruit Spray Guide - BC

4 Likes

I’m in 6a on the US side of the lake in Michigan. Not many here from Ontario that I remember? I used to do a lot of trades with Ontario growers in the good old days. I met them when we all hung out on garden web. I love my wild Ontario yellow cap. Disease resistant large berries a great black raspberry and fully adapted to our zone. I have crossed it many times to get some new fantastic black raspberries.

3 Likes

Not exactly sure what the protocol is in this thread but I’m interested to see where it goes.

A question on my mind is whether to do a dormant spray. I missed getting it done last spring (weather didn’t work out). I didn’t notice any issues because of it… should I wait until I have a reason to do dormant sprays? A neighbour told me that dormant sprays are all he does and he’s had decent luck for several years. On the other hand, I know lots of old apple trees in fence-rows never get sprays and produce lots of decent fruit.
I’m west of Toronto. Anyone in the neighborhood have thoughts?

I’m near Stratford and I use dormancy spray. Aside from some summer bt, and manual squishing, it’s all I use.
It stops almost all the bug issues on my sour cherries and it not only keeps my pears clean but also took care of leaf mites.
If I’d known it also knocks out sawfly larvae, I might have kept our old red currants. As is, I give the all the currants a hit too and they are doing great.