Peach Tree Training and Pruning by Bill Shane

I’ve found his presentation very useful and easy to understand. Although it mainly was for commercial peach farmers, backyard gardeners can benefit a great deal from it.

New England Winter Fruit Seminar Series: Keeping Peach Tress Healthy and Productive - YouTube.

@Olpea - have you seen this video? The info about low temp and damage to peach tree is very timely. I thought peach trees could tolerate colder temp than what he showed. Also, I thought, older trees would be tougher to kill by extreme cold. His sample was the opposite.

Learn a lot including various pruning system.

12 Likes

Thank you for this link. I have three peach trees I need to get under control. I have been avoiding it for a few years. I will save this video.

1 Like

Thanks Tippy. I hadn’t seen the video before. I watched part of it tonight.

So far it’s a great historical video.

1 Like

Thanks i enjoyed the presentation as. well i was not aware of the different training styles and found some of the branch training ideas really helpful i also didn’t think about the risks involved with competing scaffold branches although i felt intuitively one should avoid them.

Thanks for the link

1 Like

@Rosdonald,
Watching it made ne realize all my mistakes. My usual mistakes are being indecisive and allowing the trees to grow out of hand!! I have never heard of some training systems like Hex and the Fan for peach trees. I thought about @scottfsmith’s trees when I saw the Y system. Still, an open center system seems to best suit my purpose.

@Olpea - the video, though an hour long, are definitely most useful for newer growers. However, it included several new pieces of info i.e. some training systems and some cold hardy rootstocks I have never heard of. Good to know there is no such a thing as a dwarf peach rootstock (not counting Patio peach).

@MikeC - I plan to save this video to.