Question about topping trees

I recent bought a potted apple tree. I want to cut it off at about 2 feet high, but it looks like most of the lower buds have been rubbed off. I think one side doesn’t have any left. So, I ended up leaving the tree taller than I wanted and using some of the existing branches.

Should I just top it and see what happens or just leave it as is?

Thank you.

Now is your best chance to get the tree at the height you want. I have not had much problem with apples breaking buds below my initial cut. You could keep the lowest branch as a bit of insurance and see what breaks below it. The upper to branches have fairly acute crotch angles anyways. I am by no means an expert.

Apples will find or create buds you don’t see.

3 Likes

I have lost a few trees over the years with deep cuts to the main trunk…especially after they had new leaf growth. Fully dormant probably less an issue.

Did you seal the cut?

1 Like

No, actually.

Before you cut . . . watch this!

I’m going with this plan for my 7’ tall (almost a whip) pear that I brought home from Lowes this week!
Worth a try . . . I botched a few of my apple trees and am trying to fix them, now.

4 Likes

Does the tree have more than one variety on it?
Don’t remove one of the varieties.

Sealing the cuts is not recomend

2 Likes

Why do you want to cut it down to 24 inch height? How tall is it now? Looks like the bottom branch is about two feet high(?) Maybe you could cut down to just above that bottom branch? The trunk diameter looks pretty large for a feathered whip(?) What kind of rootstock, and what variety? Is it from a local nursery? Are you wanting to graft some other varieties onto this tree to make a frankentree? Graft just one new variety onto it? Maybe the nurseryman who sold it to you would have some ideas or advice(?)

1 Like

Seeing as smaller trees both typically are cheaper and live better…
some foresight might have been good?