Thoughts on Reducing Extreme Heat Damage and Sunburn for Fruits and Gardening

Last year (2020) was pretty extreme, with drought and heat. I had some sunburned apples and tomatoes, but mostly had good fruit production.

I’m not good at running outside in 100 F weather to cover my trees with tarps or whatever. Im trying to learn irrigation systems but my learning curve is steep, my well has a lot of sediment and Im waiting for a filter so the lines will stop clogging, among other issues.

This summer so far (It’s still only June) we had historic days with full sunshine and temps above 100 in the afternoons for several days. For two days, that was above 115.

My yard and garden sustained sunburn on fruits and leaves, many flowers and shrubs. And July, Aug are still ahead. Then there’s next year, and onward.

I know it could be a fluke but I doubt it. I am interested in future measures to reduce losses and damage in the garden in the event of more super hot and sunny weather events like what we just had.

That could include what varieties to grow, what cultivars, pruning practices, protective measures. For example, this week -

This year’s heat wave occurred after we harvested most of our sweet and tart cherries. So cherries are good this time.

Many of our apples are sunburned. I had been starting to prune them to have leaves above the apples. The most sun exposed apples seem to be the most affected, and the sun exposed side is completely sunburned. So pruning for a protective leaf cover above the fruit might help. Pruning for the greatest sun exposure - bowl shaped trees, for example - might be counter productive. I don’t know, these are my thoughts.

Same for pears, but the sunburn doesnt look as bad as the apples.

Persimmons look OK so far.

I harvested most of my raspberry crop before the heat wave. So as with cherries, earlier was protective.