Espalier Apple Trees Re-worked

Base on MES111’s advices, I’ve re-worked my 4 year old espalier apple trees this past weekend. The “crown” is pruned down to 1"-2".

Below are the “before” and “after” of the work. Hopefully I get it right this time and get me fruits next year! Or at least some flower to prove that I did it right!

I’ve also just read that Alan’s (Harvestman) advice to cut the big fat stubs down to the main arms to recycle its fruiting woods. Does it applied to my trees here that it never has any fruit to begin with?

I’m seeking experts’ advices and really appreciate your time and thoughts.

Before -

After -

One of the two up close, after pruning -

8 Likes

No expert just my 2 cent thought. Looks like you have alot of vertical growth which tends to be vegetative as opposed to fruiting.

I’m no expert on espalier. I’ve never even tried to do that. But I don’t think cutting off that much growth right now will give you flowers next yr. Nearly all the buds left, some of which may have set flower buds this summer, will be forced to become vegetative. I hope I’m wrong. But in general heavy pruning delays fruiting.

Fruitnut,

At this point, I can only cut more but not less. Even having to sacrifice next year flower/fruit, at least I hope to correct my mistakes of the past. It’s been like 4 years since I strung them up as espalier with no satisfied result, only unduly growth everywhere, especially around the center of the trunk.

Until I saw pictures from MES111’s espalier trees with flowers along the arms that made me rethink my non-achievement mistakes…

Hopefully some espalier experts can chime in and give me further advices/guidance.

Tom

First, the 1/3rd rule might be helpful- that is entirely removing pieces off the arms whose diameter exceeds 1/3rd that of the arm branch, at least when there are thinner pieces nearby. You mentioned that you followed my advice but the pictures seem to show a lot of thick stubs.