Growing Pawpaws ( Asimina triloba )

To all of you interested in growing pawpaws, I have created a website to assist with picking named varieties and provide some background information on the Asimina triloba species. I was frustrated with the apparent lack of an updated list of available cultivars. There seems to be a huge influx of improved cultivars in the last ten years and I didn’t like going to 5+ websites to get information about all of them to make my decision on which ones to get for my 1/4 acre lot.

As a novice I am sure there is pertinent information I have left out and other information which may be helpful to expand upon. If anyone has any questions or comments, PLEASE let me know how I can improve the site! Disclaimer - I have it set up as a free website via webnode for now using a shoe selling website format. I have nothing to sell (although I may do so in the very distant future) but it seemed to be the best format for being able to tag each cultivar with different qualitative measures (early season, best taste, fast growth etc). Also, I have yet to actually taste a pawpaw other than in liquid form so all of the information on taste is from other sources cited at the bottom of the page. I am very excited to change that in the next few years and be able to write my own taste reviews to standardize the formatting. I hope this helps some of you to make better informed choices on cultivars to pick! I know there are a few named cultivars that are children of @RNeal Peterson’s varieties which are not yet included on my site, and probably other good cultivars I have not heard of. If you have information that would assist me in adding them, please post it here! Thanks in advance.

Also a shout out to @Blake for having (in my opinion) the best descriptions of the cultivars that they grow which are available on their site.

31 Likes