Here comes the 2021 Apple and pear harvest!

Harrow delight is the first pear to ripen this year on August 1st. Nice pears absolutely delicious when grown in this hot climate. Looking back pears seldom ripen in the same order. I’ve been documenting many varities closely since 2015. I’ve grown pears most of my life in some capacity but learned the importance of good record keeping about 6 years ago. Photos and data are imperative to growing fruit well.

6 Likes

I think age has something to do with it as well. Five of my pear trees fruited for the first time this year. All are smaller and lagging behind my old pear trees.

They did not mess around on their first fruit either. Each has about 30-40 fruit.

3 Likes

I picked some Moonglow and Ayers today. Just the ones that let go easy. They are a little hard may be a bit early but at least they won’t be deer dinner. They are sweet.

7 Likes

Deer? My property looks like a ballerina with all the deer on their hind legs trying to steal.

4 Likes

On Saturday, at dusk, I noticed that my one enormous Aunt Rachel was a beautiful striped red. I thought I’d give it one more day before testing it’s ‘hold’ on the tree. I thought to go inside and grab my phone - take a picture. Too lazy.

On Sunday - I looked at the tree from a good distance and did not see any red. Uh Oh. Walked over. NO APPLE. “Someone” beat me to it. DARN!

We put more wire on the King David nearby. It’s apples are turning red, too . . . and we tried one before adding more fortress. Tart and firm - but juicy! Not real juicy - but juicy enough. Would make a good pie apple right now. I pulled 2 more. Will let the others ‘cook’ for a bit longer.
I intended to set up my game camera nearby to see if the culprit would return for a Sunday night dinner, but I was too pooped and didn’t feel like dealing with mosquitos.

@mamuang , seeds were dark! Thanks for that information about white vs dark seeds.

1 Like